The bridge that needs to built

As a college student when you are out with your family you run into family friends. It is something that happens all the time, even when you put all your effort into avoiding those conversations. They ask how you are and what school you are at. Then here comes the question that a lot of college students get tired of hearing; “What is your major.” I always really dislike having to answer this question not because I don’t like my major but because when I tell them I am an Agricultural Communication major, there comes the part of the conversation that I know just about everyone is going to ask me. What do you do with a major like that? I try to find a nice way to say it is a mix between agriculture and commutations. I like to tell people we are the bridge between the science and the public. I find it really interesting that when you tell them you are a communication major everyone never questions that. I find it really funny that everyone has to eat but there are so many people out there who never really ask the question where my food really comes from. I would say that there is blame to go around to a lot of different people. I feel as an Agricultural Communicator I have a responsibility to inform and teach people about agriculture. I feel like I can be that bridge between agriculture and the people who don’t know where there food comes from. I would tell people who are in the agricultural field not to turn always from people who don’t know but to try and help them out, be that bridge and offer some help.

As I have talked about how I feel as a student with a degree in agriculture, I feel the need to help people who may not know something about the agriculture field. I feel that if you can help someone who has a simple question to someone who may have some knowledge about agriculture but want to know a little more.

Building a bridge is a way I feel that this can be done. No I don’t mean building a literal bridge but building a bridge of knowledge that helps everyone and that anyone within the agriculture field could help. I have found the best way to learn is to ask questions. I had a teacher growing up who always said “the only stupid question is the question you don’t ask.” The way this applies to what I am trying to say is we need to open that bridge of commutations. If people feel like they can ask questions then there will be less people who don’t understand agriculture. After all everyone should understand where there food comes from.

C.J. Orth graduated from Purdue University in December 2012 with a degree in Agricultural Communication.

Leave a Reply

