Ag Comm Student Speaks at Alumni Event

Brooklynne Slabaugh, a junior studying Agricultural Communication and Agricultural Economics, had the opportunity to represent her college and fields of study at the Purdue Ag Alumni Fish Fry earlier this month.  Read her thoughts below.

It’s amazing how abundant the opportunities are in Purdue Agriculture. As a junior in ag communications and ag economics I have done more things in my three years at Purdue than I could have ever imagined. From going to an amazing leadership conference in Kansas City, Missouri to being able to lead one of the most esteemed clubs in the College of Agriculture, I feel truly blessed to have experienced all that I have thus far.

One opportunity that I was offered recently was to speak at the Annual Purdue Ag Alumni Fish Fry on February 4. This event is where all the “big dogs” come together with one common theme: their passion for Purdue and agriculture. Now don’t let me confuse you, I don’t consider myself one of the “big dogs”– I just got the amazing opportunity to speak to all of them.

I was humbled when the Ag Alumni staff asked me if I would thank the sponsor during the program of the Fish Fry. Oh boy, did I jump on this opportunity! Giving me, an ag comm major, the chance to speak to people who are passionate about the same things as me, was right up my alley. Although I did not get to say much more than the basic script of thanking the sponsors, the mere fact of being on stage in front of hundreds of esteemed people who love agriculture was a dream come true.

It’s unique opportunities like this one that keep me motivated to keep doing what I am doing in the College of Agriculture. It is truly an honor to be asked to help with things like this, knowing someone recognized me as a deserving leader. I would like to think I did a good job of representing myself and the departments I am a part of, ag communications and ag economics. I look forward to my final year and a half at Purdue and seeing what other things will come my way. Let it be known though, opportunities don’t just happen.  You have to embrace the small one’s you start with, build on those, and then you will see things come 360. That is how you create your own destiny.

Leave a Reply

